Banish Black!

I mentioned in an earlier blog that I am glad that the plus size clothing retailers have moved away from black shapeless clothing that covers our curves without flattering them. It would appear that not all plus size beauties agree with me though.

I had a conversation with a colleague this morning about a gorgeous Cadbury’s purple top that she is wearing, as I complimented her on it she advised me that she feels really self-conscious because it isn’t black and loose which is her usual choice of clothing.

Being me, I asked her why she felt like this, she told me that she wants to blend into the background and not be noticed. She said that she feels that when she wears a bright colour, she stands out and people will notice her. I responded by pointing out that there is nothing wrong with standing out and that she should embrace her curves, clearly this made her uncomfortable and she returned to her desk.

 This makes me so sad.

 Yes, as part of the plus size community, we’ve all been the subject of offensive comments and negative feedback, but do you know what I’ve learnt over my 32 years on this earth? If you are the person that’s covering up in baggy clothes and walking with your head down, you are more likely to be the person that is getting shit.

Confidence is the best way to beat the bullies (because that’s what they are) as it is almost impossible to find something negative to say to someone that clearly doesn’t give a fuck what you think and is happy in their own skin. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not perfect, there are times that I have a bad day or have too much to drink and get over-sensitive but 8/10 times I can brush off idiotic bullies without a second glance.

I was surprised by a conversation that I had with someone I know recently. This bloke can actually be a bit of dick and is definitely someone that I have always approached with caution. However, in this exchange he shocked me, he told me that he thinks that my confidence is stunning and that he admires me for being who I am. He is, in his words, ‘ a massive fan’ of me and can’t wait to meet the man that can keep up with me!

 I honestly believe that black shapeless clothing is a disguise. A tool that fat people use to hide behind to make themselves feel better. Well guess what? You don’t blend into the background and it won’t stop you getting noticed. You are not the ‘norm’ and if you think about it, would you really want to be?

It took me a long time to get here, but I am finally happy in my own skin. I’m not saying that I won’t get thinner, but I’m not saying that I won’t get fatter either. I will do whatever makes me happy. This confidence has meant that I have tried out clothes that I wouldn’t have even considered before and means that my wardrobe is evolving into something quite exciting!

If you are reading this and are thinking that you have an excess of black clobber in your wardrobe, then check out some of my favourite colourful items that you can buy right now …

Evans  

Orange Sunflower dress

 

Clements Ribeiro Red ‘Joan’ Dress

 Rust Coloured Jeans

 I love these Jeans! They look so good on (apart from the saggy arse on me because I have no butt!)

 Simply Be

 Kimono Sleeve Top

 I have this in Red and I LOVE it, the tie makes it really flattering and the sleeves are really dramatic.  

Frock and Frill Bell Sleeve floral dress  

You can see the gorgeous Naomi’s review of this here

 Anna Scholz 60s print Tunic

I LOVE this tunic and it’s only £35! I get so many compliments when I wear it.

 Cobalt Blue Jumpsuit

Trust me, Try one – you might surprise yourself!!

 Yours Clothing

 Leopard Leggings!

LOVE!

 ASOS Curve (Even though I can only buy bottom half clothing! Boo!)

Flower Print Pencil Skirt

 Chain Print Dress

Want! So depressing!

 Domino Dollhouse

 Birthday Bash Dress

I love this SO much!

Meringue Petticoat

I am ordering one of these!

Curves can wear colour!!

I hope that I’ve given you some ideas of how to brighten up your wardrobe!!

 Love and Kisses

 Lyss xxx

About Missy Lyssy Loo

Hi, I'm Alyssa a feisty fat chick with a passion for fashion and all things excess ... I Love ... Fancy Dress Sparkly Goodness Clothes Make up Boys Mr Wooster and Wasting money on stuff I don't need. I Hate ... Clowns Flying Vegans Diets and People who insist on only 'Paying for what they had' I am also the creative genius behind Twisted Siren Jewellery Design company, which can be found at www.twistedsiren.com but we'll speak more about that bad boy later ...

Leave a comment